Level Assessment

Last updated:

What is a level-assessment and who can apply?

Private and public educational programmes that are not regulated by the Danish Ministry of Culture, the Ministry of Higher Education and Science, or the Ministry of Children and Education (i.e. private educational programmes) can apply for level-assessment of their education, which grades the education according to its learning objectives based on the Danish Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning.

A level assessment is not a quality assessment and does not provide public recognition of the educational programme. Placement on the Danish Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning does not mean, that the educational programme grants a degree, legal entitlement to admission, or automatic merit at publically recognized educational programmes. A level assessment makes is possible to visualize the overall learning outcome of an education.

It is only possible to level assess Danish educational programmes, but it is possible to apply for a level assessment in English.

Guide to the application for level assessment

The Danish Accreditation Institution (DAI) has made a comprehensive guide for level assessment applications. The guide describes and elaborates what requirements the educational programme needs to fulfill in order to be level assessed. The guide also contains further information regarding the process itself, how to apply, and a template for the application.

Prior to any deadline, The Danish Accreditation Institution hosts an information meeting (in Danish) for all who are interested in applying for level assessment. The accreditation institution elaborates the requirements for level assessment, goes over the application process, and answer questions at the information meetings. The cost for attending the information meeting is 250 DKK per person.

The next information meeting is scheduled for August 28th, 2024 at 10 – 12 am. To attend the information meeting, please contact Malene Hyldekrog at mahy@akkr.dk


The accreditation institution completes level assessments twice a year. The coming deadlines are:

  • June 1st, 2024
  • November 1st, 2024

You need to register in order to access to the application module. Send an e-mail to Malene Hyldekrog at mahy@akkr.dk to be granted user and login information. The earliest an applicant can be granted access is a month prior to the deadline.

The expected time to process a level assessment is approx. three months

The Danish Accreditation Institution offers level assessments as revenue covered business. This means the applicant, who owns the educational programme, must cover all of the accreditation institution’s expenses. The overall cost for a level assessment is 33.000 DKK excl. VAT. The amount is paid in two installments.

  • The first rate of 13.000 DKK covers the expenses related to assessing whether the educational programme fulfills the requirements in order to be level assessed (phase 1).
  • The residual amount covers the expenses related to the level assessment itself (phase 2). If the educational programme does not fulfil the requirements in phase 1, the payment for phase 2 is not charged.

The level assessment consists of two phases:

In phase 1, we (the Danish Accreditation Institution) makes an administrative assessment of whether the educational programme meets the six requirements for an educational programme’s overall objectives for intended learning outcome to be level assessed.

If the educational programme meets the requirements, the application proceeds to phase 2 where we and one or more professional experts make an overall assessment of whether the educational programme’s overall objectives for intended learning outcome can be placed on the level applied for in the Qualifications Framework Lifelong Learning.

Read more on the requirements in the guide to level assessment.

The Qualifications Framework is a tool that provides an overall understanding of the eight levels of education that we have in Denmark.

The Qualifications Framework is part of the European education collaboration that, through the European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning (EQF), makes it possible to compare qualifications on all levels across European countries. The national Qualification Frameworks refer to the levels in EQF and therefore EQF acts as a translation tool between the countries’ national Qualification Frameworks and systems

The level descriptions in the Qualifications Framework is based on the terms of knowledge, skills and competencies, which are explained in the following:


Knowledge refers to knowledge of a subject and understanding. Knowledge contains the following aspects:

  • What type of knowledge is the case: knowledge about theory or knowledge of practice; knowledge within a subject, within a professional field or within a profession.
  • How complex this knowledge is: the degree of complexity and how different and unpredictable circumstances this knowledge can be mastered in.
  • Understanding: The ability to put your knowledge into context. Understanding is e.g. shown when you are able to explain something to others.


Skills refers to, what a person can do or perform. Skills contains the following aspects:

  • What type of skill is the case: practical, cognitive, creative or communicative skills.
  • How complex the problem solving is: what type of problem solving the skill is used for, and the complexity of the task.
  • Communication: what type of communication is demanded, the complexity of the message, for which target audience and through which mediums.


Competencies refers to responsibility and independency and indicates the ability to use knowledge and skills in a work related situation or in a study context. Competencies contain the following aspects:

  • Scope of action: in what type of work and/or study contexts knowledge and skills a brought into use and the degree of unpredictability and changeability in these contexts.
  • Cooperation and responsibility: the ability to take responsibility for own and others’ work, and how complex work related situations you can be part of.
  • Learning: the ability to take responsibility for your own and other’s learning.

A level assessment remains valid for four years, provided there are no major changes to the program during this period. To maintain the validity of the level assessment beyond four years, the program can request a renewal.

Before the expiration of a level assessment, the program will receive notification regarding the expiry date and the renewal process. Renewal applications are ongoing and not bound by fixed deadlines. However, applications must be submitted no later than two months before the level assessment expires.